Dungeon23: The Beginning

Like many in our online tabletop community, I’m taking part in Dungeon23 this year. In my case, I’m doing a hex map of “The Swamp of the Great Honker.” I’ll be doing regular (not daily) posts about my work to share how things are going.

This week, I got started by sketching out my hex map and filling in the first hex, the entrance to a canal that cuts through the swamp. It’s guarded by some Mudwoggers, the native inhabitants of the swamp who sometimes work for the canal.

Hex #1: Entrance to the “Royal Canal,” a wide canal carved through the swamp to connect the coastal cities to the capitol. Protected by patrol boats. Entrance has a small guard house staffed by “Mudwoggers,” the original inhabitants of the swamp who sometimes choose to work for the canal.

From here I’ll be continuing each day by filling in new hexes, adding details about inhabitants, like the Mudwoggers, and breaking out into dungeons and other locations in more detail when they appear.

I hope you’ll follow along as this swamp grows over the year.


Posted

in

by

Comments

2 responses to “Dungeon23: The Beginning”

  1. talaraska Avatar

    Hello! I held off on dugeon23 myself due to time constraints but have settled on being a cheerleader of sorts. It’s fun to watch what everyone comes up with and I know that for bloggers it can feel good to know that someone is out there reading.

    Tell me about the mudwoggers. Are they simply humans who have made the swamp their home or are they an entirely different species altogether?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LukeSimonds Avatar

      Thanks! It means a lot actually to see you here commenting.

      There will be more about Mudwoggers in my end of the week post, but to summarize, they are a different species adapted to living in the swamp and somewhat resentful of humans intruding

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started